Reviews

We’ve built a lot of beautiful homes and offices, and with each of those projects we have also built positive relationships with our clients. By treating our clients with respect and by making the building and remodeling process simple and stress-free, we strive to do our best to create an exceptional client experience. It’s one thing for us to tout this, but it’s another for our clients to say it themselves.


Tania Gardner Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2017
Project Price: More than $100,000

June 12, 2017
View Review on Houzz

Loren’s team completed an extensive renovation at our house over the winter and we could not be happier. The remodel includes stripping most of the first floor down to the studs and subfloor, removing a load bearing wall, new bathrooms, laundry room, kitchen, family room/living room space, installing hardwood on main level and master bedroom and replacing interior doors.

Besides doing a great job, the whole team, employees and subcontractors alike, was extremely friendly, helpful and polite.

The end result is fantastic. We have been back in our house about three months and I still marvel at how great our house is.


Mary Carol Reardon Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2017
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

June 10, 2017
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood’s team did a phenomenal job repairing one entire inner/exterior wall of our house and rebuilding two walls of the garage that were on the verge of collapse from years of cumulative water damage. As soon as we called them, they quickly answered our plea for help, were able to diagnose the problem, assess the necessary re-structuring and got to work immediately on the repairs. They were always on time and upbeat while focusing entirely on the work. Their workmanship is true artistry.


Mick Parker Relationship: Client
Project Date: December 2016
Project Price: More than $100,000

March 15, 2017
View Review on Houzz

My wife and I hired Loren Wood Builders to build our home in the Overlook development in Bloomington, IN. Loren and his team delivered a truly fantastic home! The overall experience was enjoyable and generally stress free! Loren’s project manager help lead us thru the process and helped insure our house was built with the highest quality standards. Loren’s in house team of construction professionals were all top notch craftsmen and really great people. The contracted trades LWB uses are among the best available in our market. LWB’s communication skills are great and they deliver on thier promises. Time lines were met and problems solved quickly and painlessly! I have had numerous homes built and this was by far the best experience I have had.


Ryan Prall Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2016
Project Price: More than $100,000

March 14, 2017
View Review on Houzz

We thoroughly enjoyed working with Loren and his team from beginning to end. They took the time to listen to our ideas and worked closely and seamlessly with our architect to ensure that we were all on the same page. They were organized and professional and when plan A didn’t work, they were ready with plans B-D. We appreciated their construction knowledge, but also their ideas on design and function. During our remodel, it was very important to keep the charm of the original house and Loren and his teams’ attention to the fine details couldn’t have been better. We felt like we were treated as if we were part of the family and while we were happy when the project was done, we were sad to see our new friends go.

Loren Wood Builders is an exceptional company full of talented individuals that are passionate about what they do. It was a pleasure working with them and we’d certainly offer our highest recommendation.


Jenny Herdrich Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2015
Project Price: More than $100,000

March 14, 2017
View Review on Houzz

From our first communication I knew that I wanted to hire Loren Wood. Despite living 800 miles away, we never once worried about the quality and integrity of LWB’s building team. Local architects designed an accessible, energy-efficient, aesthetically interesting and complex house; LWB ensured that every detail, big and small, was completed with precision and beauty. They added value in countless areas, and helped create a home that is stunningly beautiful. The quality and care that each team member incorporates into every project is so evident, and as a bonus they were all kind and courteous people with whom to work. We felt constantly updated through phone, email and pictures sent.

The house was designed for accessibility, and Loren’s team even improved the design as we went along, making the house even more comfortable and accommodating for my husband who is in a wheelchair.

I had never built a house before, and a house of this size and complexity was more than a bit daunting, but with LWB’s team this project became manageable and completely enjoyable. We would recommend LWB without hesitation, and most certainly will hire them for any future project.


Slotegraaf Niehoff Relationship: Client
Project Date: August 2016
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

February 20, 2017
View Review on Houzz

We are small business owners with a downtown Bloomington, Indiana office building. We wanted to improve the appearance and functionality of our primary business entrance and at the same time keep the style and look of our building true to its historic roots. Loren Wood Builders did all of that and kept the project on time and within budget. Furthermore, Loren and his crew unexpectedly stood out in the professional manner in which they kept us informed and communicated with us about our project. We won’t look any further than Loren Wood Builders for our next project.


Brad & Gina Rogers Relationship: Client
Project Date: January 2015
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

January 9, 2017
View Review on Houzz

Loren remodeled the main floor of a 1960 home we purchased. This involved removing two load-bearing walls, installing a new kitchen, windows, beams, doors, and opening up narrow passage ways. Loren completely transformed the space into our dream home.

Working with Loren was very easy. He communicates well with all kinds of folks…which made the project move along without a hitch. When we had concerns he listened first, then we would decide together on what course of action to take.

We are very satisfied with Loren’s workmanship AND his approach to managing the project. We recommend him without reservation.


Ellee Spier Relationship: Client
Project Date: March 2016
Project Price: More than $100,000

December 19, 2017
View Review on Houzz

Loren wants each project he signs up for to make a statement. He wants to shake up the Bloomington market and add value through clean, modern/contemporary, high-quality, environmentally-sound construction. No matter what he is building, there is always something unique in each project he completes.

He is willing to research the new, the unknown, something that he has not tried before and will provide you with honest feedback on your ideas. If your idea makes sense structurally, economically and fall in line with your values as well as his own, he will find a way to make them happen.

He expects that his work and the work of his employees represent his values and who he is as a person. You can tell that he takes great pride in each project and really cares about his clients.

Loren is extremely proficient at managing the complex process of building a house. He stays on top of each project with a fine-toothed comb. He is well respected in the Bloomington building community.

He is not out to make a quick dollar. He wants provide his clients with a high-quality end product – a house, remodel, structure – that stands the test of time. He will not just spend a client’s money if he thinks it is not the right decision. He will walk through the pros and cons and make sure that his clients are well aware of them before proceeding with each step of the process.

He continually reviews the budget with you and tries his best to keep you on target. Just remember that building supply costs change seasonally, which means that end dollar amount will also change depending on the length of your project.

Loren keeps real life in perspective. He tries his best to work within your schedule. However, he will push you to stay on task but not at the risk of work-life balance. He prefers to keep working hours Monday through Friday, so that he and his team can enjoy time with family on the weekends.

He hires very talented employees and takes care of them. He expects a lot out of his employees and in return receives high quality work. He also chooses his subs with care and does his best to make sure that they are all communicating to one another. However, he cannot be at your project every single minute of the day, so clients must be willing to be on-site answering the questions of subs and employees. Nevertheless, Loren is always a phone call away and is very good at problem solving and walking you through a decision even when not on-site.

Even though he is not on-site every day, he reviews the work of his subs and employees and if he finds errors or mistakes, he quickly takes care of them and let’s you know what is going on. With that said, Loren and his team are human and occasionally miss things. So, it is good to be upfront with him. If something is bothering you about your project, tell him! He will work with you to figure out a solution or compromise to the problem. He is a fabulous listener.

During the entire process, he builds with the health and safety of his clients, employees and the environment in mind. He and his team of employees try to minimize what goes into the waste stream, helping both his clients’ pocketbooks and the environment. They take extra items to Habitat for Humanity Restore, the Bloomington Reuse Center and Recycling Center.

At the end of the project, Loren does not disappear. If something isn’t the way it is supposed to be, he will return to fix it.

If we were to build another house, would we use Loren again? Absolutely!


Christopher Elam Relationship: Colleague
Project Date: January 2016
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

December 17, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood Builders are exceptional to work with both in the quality of their work (which they put first) but also in the quality of the experience. Loren is a kind and conscientious contractor with excellent communication skills and high expectations for everything they do. That combination is an exceedingly hard thing to find in the trades. I give them my highest recommendation.


Joanna Watkins Relationship: Client
Project Date:June 2015
Project Price: Less than $1,000

2015
View Review on Houzz

I can’t be more satisfied than I have been with Loren’s services. Their professionalism and the quality of their work have been impressive. When I am ready to build my dream home, hopefully soon, I will be contacting them without any hesitation.


Sarah Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2016
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

August 10, 2017
View Review on Houzz

I knew of Loren’s work, so chose him for my extensive kitchen remodel. (See portfolio…Ramble Rd. kitchen). I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about anything, and I didn’t. The outcome was flawless, and I as I write this, I am sitting at the counter looking through my new windows.


joawatki Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2015
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

December 14, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood Builders was absolutely the best. I had them do several different small to medium size projects including a room renovation and a beautiful custom fence. They have great ideas and taste and are pleasant to work with. I will definitely use them in the future again.


susielewisstokes Relationship: Client
Project Date: March 2016
Project Price: More than $100,000

December 12, 2016
View Review on Houzz

After interviewing several contractors, we hired Loren Wood Builders for an entire home re-model. We chose Loren for several reasons. First of all, because we felt immediately comfortable with both Loren and Dan (our subsequent project manager). They provided honest and up-front answers to all of our questions, and seemed very transparent – which I greatly appreciated. Secondly, we chose Loren Wood Builders because we were so impressed with Loren’s and Dan’s ideas for our remodel – from even the initial interview. It was very inspiring, and refreshing, to walk through our home with Loren and Dan and garner their ideas, even though we had not yet made a final decision regarding a contractor. Once the process began, we could not have been any more impressed with the quality of the work, and attention given to our home, even though it was a remodel and not new construction. Most importantly, I appreciated Loren and Dan’s timely responsiveness to any and all questions or concerns. Loren’s crew definitely follow Loren’s example as they are all extremely courteous, friendly, and show much pride in their work.


Nancy Boerner Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2016
Project Price: Less than $1,000

December 11, 2016
View Review on Houzz

The electricians Brad Snyder and his colleague Simon did excellent work. They solved electrical problems for me on several occasions this fall, and always were thorough and reliable.


Wes Peters Relationship: Client
Project Date: July 2016
Project Price: More than $100,000

September 8, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood Builders was chosen to guide the management and construction of: existing rear porch replacement, house front updated curb appeal, and renovated parts of living room. Close friends recommend his company. The addition made to their home was stunning. Now, after our project is completed, we know we made an exceptionally wise choice.

We knew that living on site during the design, destruction, and re-construction of the three areas would be inconvenient for the work teams and us. However, the crews were extremely sensitive to our daily needs and ultimately it was only a minor disruption. Certainly the results were well worth the living workarounds.

We developed a huge admiration for Loren and his subcontractors. Loren was soothing and reassuring when I pummeled him with my endless questions. He would quickly show up to answer and discuss approaches and design decisions when needed. His experience made those choices easier. Without exception the workers were respectful, courteous, incredibly gifted crafts persons, and genuinely pleasant, agreeable people. They answered the execution of designs brilliantly, and also corrected the near-thirty-year-old house structural problems without my prompting.

Workmanship had the precision of cabinetmakers.

Do we recommend Loren and his professional band of gifted professionals? Oh, YES!


Sarah Hurwitz Relationship: Client
Project Date:July 2015
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

August 26, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren and Dan are honest and thorough and cared as much about the getting the details right as we did. We are pleased with our renovation and will certainly hire them again for future projects.


Josh Thurston Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2016
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

December 14, 2016
View Review on Houzz

I am a small business owner in Bloomington, IN and Loren Wood Builders absolutely went above and beyond to help me and my partners with the build out of our new location. I had a number of ideas but bringing them together was going to be impossible on our own. From the very first meeting with Loren, we knew we had made the right decision and our business was in the the best hands. He utilized reclaimed wood and repurposed materials along with new and modern finishes to give our business the perfect feel and functionality the was wanted and needed. There truly isn’t a better builder in the area and I would strongly recommend contacting Loren Wood Builders, it will be the beat decision you make with your new build or remodel.

Josh Thurston
Salt Creek Cycles


Carol Watts Relationship: Client
Project Date:June 2015
Project Price: More than $100,000

June 29, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood built a new custom home for us. We were both professors of architecture and designed the house for aging in place. We started building shortly after our retirement and we moved to Bloomington just in time to oversee construction. We interviewed several area builders and chose Loren Wood because he was used to working with architects and builds modern houses. We visited a number of his projects and observed the high quality of his work. We were particularly impressed by the house recently built for himself that used a number of technologies that we wanted in our house. Loren is attracted to unique design challenges and he and his crew have the ability for well-crafted solutions.

Unique designs demand extra thorough communication. Because of our professional backgrounds we were on the job site nearly everyday with close interactions with Loren and his crew, as well as lots of early morning emails, text messages and phone calls.

Loren has a large number of skilled carpenters, electricians, and other craftsmen working directly for him, as well as exceptional sub contractors best suited for the work intended.

We had an unusually long lead time prior to construction to develop an extensive set of plans and specifications. It only took six months for construction (from the ground up) and it went very smoothly. We highly recommend Loren Wood Builders for those clients seeking exceptional and unique quality construction.


msplank Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2016
Project Price: More than $100,000

May 16, 2016
View Review on Houzz

I recently used Loren Wood Builders and Springpoint Architects to build a new custom home on a wooded lot I purchased in Monroe County and was so completely satisfied with the finished product that I wanted to offer a review. Loren’s company seems to be a reincarnation or an extension of a family business including his uncle and cousin. As a result, they have an extensive core of experience and a discriminating sense for quality workmanship. They are conductors of a parade of competent in-house craftsman and have established a list of reputable and highly-skilled contractors or representatives of manufacturers/venders. They are keyed into the most energy efficiency designs and practices and used and took advantage of recent technology or manufacturing innovations for residential/commercial construction (of which there are many).

Personally I used an architect (Springpoint Architects) to develop a set of plans and selected Loren Wood Builders after interviewing a number of local builders. I was impressed with Loren’s (and the future project manager I had) commitment to energy efficiency and quality of construction. During the building process, the project manager developed and maintained an on-going budget and a sequential list of construction activities from site clearing to completing the construction. All actions were hosted in the “cloud” so there was transparency for all activities including bids from all of the vendors and trades. The transparency was important to me since I was living in the mid-Atlantic during construction. During construction we had biweekly teleconferences to discuss progress and had almost daily contact via texts or emails from the project manager. While building a house or even remodeling can be a stressful situation, the transparency and constant interaction helped maintain a sense of progress.

For those of us who consider talented people in the trades as artists, using Loren Wood Builders, my architect Springfield Architects, and their cadres of specialty craftsmen/venders helped accomplish the vision of my project. The artistry and skill was impressive and inspiring.

Without question and with no reservations, I would absolutely rate Loren Wood Builders and Springpoint Architects with a 5 out of 5. The finished result of their construction was almost flawless; they obviously and, deservedly so, take great pride in their work. I would highly recommend them to anyone considering any future construction activities whether new home construction or remodeling.


mfmccourt Relationship: Client
Project Date:March 2015
Project Price: More than $100,000

February 8, 2016
View Review on Houzz

We hired Loren Wood Builders for an extensive renovation project on our home after having reviewed several builders. Loren provided a very detailed quote and timeframe for the project and measured his performance toward cost and time against this original proposal. The project turned out better than we could have imagined. The craftsmanship is superior, the crews were quite easy to work with and the job was done according to the highest professional standards. I would recommend Loren Wood Builders for any project…..large or small. You will not be disappointed!


Sarah Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2016
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

August 10, 2017
View Review on Houzz

I knew of Loren’s work, so chose him for my extensive kitchen remodel. (See portfolio…Ramble Rd. kitchen). I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about anything, and I didn’t. The outcome was flawless, and I as I write this, I am sitting at the counter looking through my new windows.


tatianak16 Relationship: Client
Project Date:June 2015
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

January 24, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren and Dan are honest and thorough and cared as much about the getting the details right as we did. We are pleased with our renovation and will certainly hire them again for future projects.


drewschrader Relationship: Client
Project Date:October 2014
Project Price: More than $100,000

January 22, 2016
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood Builders handled a major addition and remodel for us and we can not speak highly enough about working with them. Every level of their operation is highly professional and personable. We knew from seeing their other jobs that their work is at the highest level, and what we learned in working with them is that Loren and his team bring a similar level of care and attention to detail to all parts of the process. From budgeting out and planning the project, through the myriad of decisions and adjustments that go along with remodeling an old home, to wrapping up the project we felt like they had our best interests in mind and were true partners with us in bringing the goals for our remodel to life.


claughlin56 Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2014
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

January 15, 2016
View Review on Houzz

We hired Loren Wood Builders to demo and remodel our basement. Our growing family needed more bedrooms and a unique play room for the kids. To make things a little difficult, we gave Loren a 60 day accelerated schedule and didn’t have a design before we started. Loren was extremely helpful and generous with his own time to walk us through differently design options after the demo of the space. Loren crew is also top notch. Very respectful of my home and my family. His guys are polite and fun to be around — my kids loved it when Will would sing during the day.

We were so pleased with the detail in the basement we again hired LWB to replace all the windows, main floor trim and exterior siding this past summer. I would recommend them for any project. Seeing some of the kitchen and bathroom remodels already has my wife planning our next LWB project.


purneems Relationship: Client
Project Date: November 2015
Project Price:

December 22, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood Builders remodeled my kitchen, gutting the old one and building a new one. From the start, they were highly professional, detailing the process for the remodel, offering an estimate, and going over the contract. Loren made creative suggestions (to remove a broom closet and open up a wall) on the overall design that improved the kitchen’s aesthetics and functionality. Once construction started, Seth, the project manager, provided detailed updates on the progress, calendar, for completion, and estimates on the cost-to-completion. The construction crew was very nice and tolerant of my eccentricities; I am particularly grateful to Brad and Cymon for rewiring a beloved light fixture.

The quality of the materials and overall craftmanship on my kitchen remodel are excellent. I recommend Loren Wood Builders highly and enthusiastically.


Clutch Fabrication and Design LLC Relationship: Colleague
Project Date:November 2015
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

December 21, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Simply the best company to work with. I’ve never meet an unhappy employee or customer. Working with Loren and his crew is always a fun and easy process.


annaliela Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2014
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

September 7, 2015
View Review on Houzz

I moved to Bloomington last year and asked my real estate agent and the closing agent for the name of the best contractor in Bloomington, and they both said Loren Wood Builders. I met with Loren and showed him what I wanted to do with my 1,400 sq ft 1960’s house – basically take it down to the studs and rebuild all of the interiors. He gave me some excellent ideas and an estimate – which was what the job ended up costing a few months later when it was complete. Loren has a calm and friendly demeanor and his subcontractors and workers all like him and his #2 very much – which shows in the care with which they did all of the work. During the months of demolition and reconstruction Loren stopped by regularly to check on the work and meet with me. They did a fantastic job and I highly recommend Loren Wood Builders!


Marsha Herman-Betzen Relationship: Client
Project Date:August 2016
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

August 20, 2015 Last modified: September 22, 2016
View Review on Houzz

We had an old living room addition that needed a wall of 6 floor to ceiling Anderson Windows and sliding door to match the same windows/door and trim as in the dining room. There was not an existing header so the project was more involved than cutting out the wall and installing the windows/door. After the initial visit and estimate, the work was completed to perfection, and came in $1500 under the estimate. Every skilled worker from carpenter, electrician, and dry wall/painter did their job with perfection. And if that were not enough, they cleaned as they progressed and were delightful to have around. The biggest plus was the communication from the owner of the company throughout the project. We now have three other major projects we need to complete. I wouldn’t use anyone else. I got the best of all worlds, a gorgeous finished project, skilled craftsmen, superb communication, and uncompromising integrity.

Now, we have recently just completed Phase 1 of our entire house renovation, which culminated in an exquisite new kitchen. If not for Loren Wood and his extensive construction expertise, outstanding interpersonal skill, masterful communication style, and uncompromising commitment to excellence, we would not have a kitchen that combines elegant form as well as state-of-the art function. Loren is an exceptional leader of an exemplary team; and maintains an invaluable connection to a cadre of talented artisans he seamlessly brings together to work on the project. Loren Wood will talk you off the ledge when construction fatigue has set in, constantly reassure you when your patience may be waning, fix a seldom-made-mistake immediately without question, and always solve a problem with alternatives. We are beginning the design process for Phase II which will be the largest portion of the remodel. I would not trust anyone other than Loren. I recommend Loren Wood Builders unequivocally and without hesitation. You will enjoy the fruits of his labor in the meticulously finished product that he and his team creates, exceeding all expectations.


nicomart Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2015
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

August 13, 2015
View Review on Houzz

We hired Loren Wood Builders to finish our basement and we’re thrilled with how it turned out! Loren and his crew were great to work with from start to finish. Communication with Loren was fantastic, we always were kept in the loop and he was very responsive to all of our questions and concerns. His crew and the subcontractors he uses were all very professional and did great work. There were a lot of moving parts involved in this project (including some last minute changes that we asked for) and Loren was organized, efficient, and on top of everything so that we didn’t have to worry about coordinating anything at all. The project was finished on time and on budget. We absolutely love our new space and Loren has our highest recommendation!


astites Relationship: Client
Project Date:June 2015
Project Price: More than $100,000

July 15, 2015
View Review on Houzz

We hired Loren Wood Builders to add two bedrooms, a full bath, a study, an aluminum deck and a screened in porch to our house, as well as to renovate a half-bath. Everyone warned us that renovating while living in the house would be a nightmare, but I can honestly say the entire experience was a lot of fun due completely to Loren and his crew. Without exception, Loren’s crew was kind, respectful, neat, amazing with our young children and always went out of their way to make sure they were as unobtrusive as possible. Their work ethic was truly impressive – they started early and finished late if need be. If something wasn’t done as we expected (or if we changed our mind about some detail) they were quick to fix it, find a creative solution, or discuss with us why it should be the way it is. Their workmanship is impeccable. We always felt they were very honest, fair and transparent with their invoicing. Their professionalism, intelligence, taste and eagerness to try the latest materials and design ideas made Loren Wood Builders a truly remarkable company to work with. To tell you the truth, even though we are glad the project is done, we miss having them around everyday.


eallanso Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2015
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

May 19, 2015
View Review on Houzz

We hired Loren Wood Builders to frame a master bedroom addition. I can not tell you how happy I was with this experience!!!! Loren was SUPER helpful and available throughout the whole process. Our job was pretty small, but I believe we received the same great service that all of Loren Wood Builders’ clients receive. In short, he made us feel IMPORTANT, which went a long way in making this build soooo successful.

The work Loren’s team provided was top notch. It was done very efficiently and cleanly…. his crew was very knowledgable and EASY to work with!

I would STRONGLY recommend Loren Wood Builders, they were a breath of fresh air. Loren does a great job of making you feel like you are his only client, I never once felt like my job was at the bottom of the “pile.”


aabernst Relationship: Client
Project Date:August 2013
Project Price: More than $100,000

February 23, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Loren and his team were perfect. It’s really hard to elaborate on perfection because every step along the journey of building our home, everything was exactly how we envisioned it, except better. Both Loren and the members of his crew are meticulous and their drive for bringing our vision to fruition was evident and clear. Loren is also just an all-around nice guy–very easy to get along with and communicate with. Everyone warned me and my husband going into this homebuilding project that it was going to be stressful beyond belief and we just did not experience that at all. We actually had a really fun and creative time building our dream home with Loren. I cannot imagine having worked with anyone else and always highly recommend him to friends and acquaintances. If you’re looking for a builder in Bloomington, you really don’t need to look any further than Loren Wood Builders.


Mehtadanthi Relationship: Client
Project Date: October 2014
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

February 23, 2015
View Review on Houzz

We hired Loren Wood builders for a Kitchen remodel. It was a complete overhaul. Loren was methodical, his team was efficient and everything worked like clock work. He was very aware of our budget constraints and told us where to cut. Loren also has a great sense of humor which is an added bonus. We are extremely pleased with the finished product and will def. be using them again in the future without a doubt.


anc1206 Relationship: Client
Project Date:August 2014
Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999

February 18, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Loren and his team were incredibly helpful in quickly transforming our project from paper to reality. Within a few weeks time, our project was up and running–and it even finished early. We were impressed with the attention to detail, especially with the woodworking craftsmanship. Loren was reliable, knowledgable and easy to work with. His team had a positive attitude and was respectful of our space, careful not to harm the landscaping and leaving everything just as they found it. We highly recommend working with Loren and his team.


Patrick Bohannon Relationship: Client
Project Date: August 2015
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

February 12, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Cannot say enough positive things about Loren Wood and the rest of his team. Loren’s team did a full basement remodel for us including wet bar, theatre seating, and several purpose-built areas. The project was extensive and we are thrilled with the results. What stands out to me the most is Loren’s ability to balance a low-pressure, casual attitude with a meticulous attention to detail and professional handling of those details. Shockingly, for a project so big and that went on several months, I cannot think of a single constructive piece of feedback that would fall in Loren’s control or that of his team. Other factors that stood out to me include Loren’s familiarity and rapport with local subcontractors and his ability to rally them to meet project due dates, his creativity (he did not hesitate to weigh in with design suggestions), and his willingness to voice his opinion in a respectful, constructive way when he felt a decision would negatively impact the project.


zennysunshine77 Relationship: Client
Project Date:January 2012
Project Price: More than $100,000

February 10, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood was everything we wanted in a contractor. He was honest and transparent in his dealings with us. A good communicator, Loren prepared us in advance for all the decisions to be made at each step in the process of building our home. The quality and care he and his crew put into the construction of our home was top notch. He provided close attention to detail to give us the most out of our tight budget, and utilized sustainable building practices whenever possible. We wholeheartedly recommend Loren Wood Builders for any project you might be considering.


Hans Addleman Relationship: Client
Project Date: March 2012
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

February 10, 2015
View Review on Houzz

Loren was professional, well priced, and easy to work with. He discussed every part of the build with us and made us feel very comfortable. His team worked fast and were able to keep the quality high. I have seen a few of his more advanced builds and home theater remodels and have been more then impressed!


kristimgibbs Relationship: Client
Project Date:February 2012
Project Price:

October 30, 2014
View Review on Houzz

Loren completed a kitchen/laundry/mudroom remodel for us as well as a few smaller projects. He provided excellent service and we love the finished product. He was present at the job site, easily reached by phone, knowledgable, and clearly has a passion for building. The remodeling process moved along at a good pace and we enjoyed it very much!


markroseman Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2013
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

January 30, 2014
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood is outstanding, the perfect contractor. The electrician who works with him nicknames him “the great communicator” and this is true. He is a perfectionist. He can do traditional designs, but he sticks out from contractors in the Bloomington area by also being open to modern and contemporary styles. He did a very wide-ranging remodel of our 1927 house superbly, stuck to his budget (except where we changed the spec, but even then did not take liberties), and worked incredibly professionally even in the longish period when we were away from the area. We could not be more pleased with the results. He also has a sub array of professionals with whom he works for carpentry, electricals, tiling, landscaping, hvac, roofing, painting. everybody whom he brings in is excellent. Could not rate the experience of working with him more highly.


markroseman Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2013
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

January 30, 2014
View Review on Houzz

Loren Wood is outstanding, the perfect contractor. The electrician who works with him nicknames him “the great communicator” and this is true. He is a perfectionist. He can do traditional designs, but he sticks out from contractors in the Bloomington area by also being open to modern and contemporary styles. He did a very wide-ranging remodel of our 1927 house superbly, stuck to his budget (except where we changed the spec, but even then did not take liberties), and worked incredibly professionally even in the longish period when we were away from the area. We could not be more pleased with the results. He also has a sub array of professionals with whom he works for carpentry, electricals, tiling, landscaping, hvac, roofing, painting. everybody whom he brings in is excellent. Could not rate the experience of working with him more highly.